Posted in 30 Day Movie Challenge

30 Day Movie Challenge: Part II

Day 08 – A movie that put me in deep thoughts

Silence

silence_282016_film29

Matt Zoller Seitz from RogerEbert.com articulated it perfectly: “This is not the sort of film you ‘like’ or ‘don’t like.’ It’s a film that you experience and then live with.” Writing about this movie faces me with just as much contemplation as when I first saw its credits roll. It’s a story about unconditional faith in a place filled with doubt and persecution; a place not at all so different than some parts of the world today, without many of us ever noticing. Admittedly, I had never heard or thought about the persecution of Christians in 17th century Japan, making Silence an eye-opening movie, a rarity among the contemporary excess of Superhero movies and Romcoms. This was one of the gems that I had to research and look into directly after it ended. As a rather sceptical Christian, the themes of Martin Scorsese’s work hit very close to home and stirred personal questions as well as ineffable admiration towards people with steadfastness in their faith, even when it may no longer look like it from the outside. Father Rodrigues’ journey is a painful one to watch, even more harrowing than the realisation that this movie got snubbed at the 2017 Academy Awards. And it got snubbed HARD. Martin Scorsese would have deserved an Oscar, not to mention Andrew Garfield. Instead they had La La Land in the run for Best Picture. What. A. Joke.

Day 09 – My favourite movie from my favourite genre

Snowpiercer

jc-richard-snowpiercer-movie-poster-2015

In case I hadn’t mentioned it often enough, I have a soft spot for (post-apocalyptic) dystopian fiction. People are always perplexed at the specificity of the answer when I’m asked about my favourite genre, both in cinema as well as literature. Unfortunately, most dystopian stories don’t translate very well on screen, because the most interesting aspects, their politics, the government and society are rarely merited their deserved screen time for the sake of the characters and the plot. Snowpiercer is different. Aside from an extensive elaboration on the workings of the Great Engine, it has a classical dystopian arc of rebellion and the ultimate goal of overthrowing the system. What makes this movie unique is the combination of a sophisticated dystopian regime and R-rated action that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Up until Snowpiercer, R-rated dystopias mostly focused on fights, deaths and gore without regarding the deeper sense of the system (i.e. Death RaceHotel ArtemisBattle Royale and many more). I highly appreciate the intricate synergy of visual delights and intellectual challenge, so if you know more movies like Snowpiercer let me know ASAP!!!

Day 10 – A movie where a character has a job I want

Fantastic Beasts and where to find them

mv5bmjmxotm1oti4mv5bml5banbnxkftztgwode5otyxmdi-_v1_

Veterinary medicine comes pretty close, but it’s still not magizoology. Although deeply envious of Newt Scamander, I can’t help but loving his character in general. If the Wizarding World were real, I’d take going on an expedition to find magical creatures with Newt over being Harry Potter’s classmate any day.

Day 11 – My favourite book adaptation

Harry Potter (and the Prisoner of Azkaban)

512o8hhpcal

Out of the eight Potter movies, many agree with me that The Prisoner of Azkaban was the best of the bunch. I can’t exactly say what makes it superior to the rest; it may be Alfonso Cuaron at the helm, the fact that they ditched the rather “children-friendly” style or because the story itself starts to pick up. In any case, shit got real in this movie and set the bar high for the rest of the series. Although the movie saga disagrees with some hardcore book fans, I find the overall adaptation a success. Sure, a lot of details and gags were left out (Peeves, anyone?) but the practicability of translating page to screen has to taken into consideration as well and a 4-hour movie isn’t practical, even though I definitely wouldn’t complain about that.

Day 12 – The best superhero movie

Daredevil

51aab4b93ddac396f57bae36d9f21201

Before you lynch me for choosing Daredevil and remember the 2003 cringey Ben Affleck flick, call me out for being a cheater. Yes, Netflix series don’t belong in a movie challenge but no Hollywood production has ever come close to the ingeniuty of this Daredevil version. I cannot recall what enticed me to start the series in the first place; maybe it was divine intervention to lead me to one of the best cinematic experiences ever. Unlike the CGI-driven, blockbuster action Marvel Cinematic Universe or other superhero movies these days, Daredevil relies on strong character development. Superhero story arcs proof to be repetitive and oftentimes fall into a boring sob story. Matt Murdock actually follows the typical “I’m an underprivileged, even handicapped, orphan that has special skills and made something out of myself to fight for justice” story and if you put it this way, that does sound terribly dull. Yet Charlie Cox’ portrayal of Matt makes him so likeable and the religious themes that establish his moral struggle, especially in Season 3, are an interesting take. Also, he’s ridiculously hot.  Daredevil creates suspense through a solid story instead of explosions, car chase scenes or alien invasions. This doesn’t mean that the stunt team was out of a job because they have created the most intense fight sequences I have ever seen with the renowned one-take hallway fights. I am still in awe about the close to 11 minute (!!!) one-take prison escape that is simply too good to be true. Hopefully, Season 4 will grace the Netflix collection at some point, because not renewing Daredevil would be an even dumber move than cancelling Sense 8.

Day 13 – A movie I wish I saw in theaters

Mad Max: Fury Road

518f2xty7cl

Perhaps another odd choice for something I would have loved to see on the big screen, but excluding everything released before my birth and unknown movies that didn’t hit the theaters (in Indonesia) Mad Max: Fury Road is the one I could kick myself for not bothering to buy tickets for. Not sure how I missed it in the first place, because Tom Hardy and post-apocalyptic wastelands are what I live for. I ended up watching it on a 12-hour flight over the Indian Ocean. Despite the 720p resolution on an eight inch screen the movie was still gripping as fuck and a visual treat. I immediately felt like going to the Burning Man afterwards. I watched the movie twice more in the following two weeks and loved it every time. Lesson learned: I’ll be the first in line for tickets when  Mad Max: The Wasteland hits theatres.

Day 14 – The most overrated movie

Avatar

41e8bghoypl-_sy450_

A close race between Avatar and Titanic: James Cameron takes home the price of most overrated director in any case. I don’t know why everybody loves this movie, the plot is cheesy as fuck, the gist stolen from Pocahontas, the acting mediocre at best. Commend the CGI and visual effects all you want, I walked out of the theatre with a headache after the 3D screening. And no, I am not usually sensitive to 3D. It may be a cinematic breakthrough or whatever, but it left me less than impressed. Equally unnecessary is the production of the sequels, no doubt a farce to grab more cash from this weary universe.

 

SEE THE REST IN PART III !

Day 15 – The most underrated movie

Day 16 – A childhood movie

Day 17 – Favourite animated movie

Day 18 – A movie I surprisingly enjoyed

Day 19 – Favourite war movie

Day 20 – Visually most striking movie

Day 21 – Top 3 directors

Day 22 – Weirdest movie I’ve ever seen

Day 23 – Top 3 actors

Day 24 – A movie nobody expected me to like

Day 25 – Top 3 actresses

Day 26 – A movie from the year I was born

Day 27 – A movie that gave me nightmares

Day 28 – An award-winning movie that didn’t deserve it

Day 29 – A movie during which I fell asleep

Day 30 – Favourite non-English movie

One thought on “30 Day Movie Challenge: Part II

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.